I Won’t Sacrifice Success: Trail Of Thoughts

Hello everybody! I am back with another blog post! I am starting a new series on the blog called “Trail Of Thoughts,” where it will be open for me to write about whatever is on my mind at the time. I hope you all will enjoy, and hopefully gain some perspective in the process. Now, onto the post!

Success. It is a word we are all quite too familiar with. It’s a goal, a dream, what we are all working to achieve. We all know that success comes in different forms and on different journeys through life, but what I have been encountering is the limit of success. Are all of us only allowed a threshold of success in our lives? Who gets to decide that? If one person is seen as more successful than another, should they have to give up opportunities so others can have them?

Lately, I have felt quite undermined and somewhat attacked for my views on success and the success I have in my life. I’m a leader in several student organizations, attend many conferences, events, and programs, have won awards in the past. I am very proud of what I have done, and admire all the sacrifice my family has made to help me get where I am (but that’s a whole ‘nother post to come!). I love to share my experience with others to help encourage and motivate them to reach their dreams. Unfortunately in the process, some people have stated that they feel alienated by me because I’m “so perfect,” “so organized,” and “have it all together.” It has even been stated to me that I really should stop trying to achieve my goals because I already have enough to do or had enough success.

I am here to tell you that I won’t sacrifice success.

I won’t sacrifice success because I have multiple passions. Just because I have an interest in art and public service does not mean I should or will give one up to satisfy anyone. I dedicate my life to creation in many ways, whether I am sewing a dress or planning a project. Why should I limit my potential because of other people’s limited expectations of me? Believe it or not, I can rock the runway and go down in a debate! I can give my views on politics while wearing a handmade floral skirt! I can lead the art club and student government!

I won’t sacrifice success because of my gender. I hope to be a role model and a mentor to many girls across the nation and the world. I want them to see there is no glass ceiling on the things they can achieve. Women are just as capable (if not more) as being student leaders, CEOs, philanthropists, and even president as men are. If I limit my success at this age, who know what potential opportunities I could be giving away?

I won’t sacrifice success because of other people’s jealousy. They are multiple opportunities for us all to succeed. For some of us, it is harder to find than others. But, when two people are given the same opportunities, you cannot fault the person who decided to take them if you didn’t even try. When I decide to do things, I do it because I have passion and drive. It is not for rewards, praise, or to take things away from others. If something did not work out for me, I found another way. I am sorry if the jealousy that clouds your vision is keeping you from succeeding in your goals. But, I will not bring myself down to satisfy you. I will not give up leadership positions because you feel it is unfair. In this life, we only have ourselves, and I do not want to look back in several years and regret that I did not try.

I won’t sacrifice success based on the limitations of others. Do you know the old saying “Jack of all trades, a master of none?” Yeah, someone told me it recently. But, that’s actually one of the most misquoted idioms in all of history. The actual quote is: “Jack of all trades, master of none. But oftentimes better than master of one.” I will not pigeonhole myself into something because I am afraid of judgement if you branch out. I unapologetically will sign up for both the arts and history recognition in school if that suits my interests. I will never judge my success on the success of others. Instead of tearing others down, lets all build each other up. I am so lucky to have some of the greatest friends in the entire world (SCAD SQUAD I LOVE YOU!) who love, respect, and support me no matter what I do. I’m not going to limit my life at the expense of the insecurity of others. Yes, I will lead the clubs I am in because I love serving my school. I will sign up for both the arts symposium and the senate simulator because I want my voice to be heard in a visual and philanthropic medium. I will cut all my hair off and rock a pixie because I don’t need long hair to be confident. If someone doesn’t like it, that’s fine. Just know you are missing out on the chance to know a wonderful, well rounded individual. But hey, that’s your loss.

If people are trying to limit you, the best advice I have is to keep being you. Keep being unapologetically yourself. Oh friends, I am not too successful. I am only just starting. As long as you are doing your best, I see nothing wrong with giving everything your best shot. You will never know unless you try.

Success isn’t something to be measured in numbers, weights, cords, or awards. It is something to be measured in sweat, grit, mind, and heart.

Until next time, have a successful day.

Sincerely mine,

Mackenzie

 

Leave a Reply

